Heart Healthy Beats

Tidbits to keep your heart healthy

Getting Enough Green

Leave a comment

A few Saturdays ago I decided to make a trip to Urgent Care. I was feeling extremely fatigued, my glands and face we noticeably swollen and I was sore all over. At first the doctor thought I had mono but blood ruled that out. He came back to say I must have a viral infection and he mentioned that my hemoglobin was very low, at a 10.4. Normal range for women is around 12.0 – 15.5 grams per deciliter and for men 13.5 – 17.5. He advised me to keep an eye on it and to follow up with my PCP. I’ve always struggled with low iron, I’m rarely successful with donating blood even though I organize annual blood drives with the American Red Cross. I wanted to take steps to rectify this considering the low levels were probably contributing to the fatigue.

Yesterday I was standing in the middle of the produce section at my supermarket when it hit me. I should try to incorporate more leafy greens to my diet. But what….

bilo

So I did what anybody would do, I jumped on my Pinterest lunch board and did some research.

Collard Greens!!!

greens

And they were reasonably priced. Score!! So after my perimeter shopping (more about that in an upcoming post), I rushed home to try it out.

What did I prepare you ask? So glad you asked because I’m excited to share.

Collard Green Wraps < sounds delicious right? Well, bare with me and I’ll walk you through it.

  • First, I washed 2 collard green leaves.
  • Then, I filled a bowl with warm water and a splash of distilled white vinegar. And left them to soak for 10 minutes. (I read this helps the leaves become more pliable) You can also use lemon juice.
  • While the leaves are soaking I prepared my filling. For this wrap I used an avocado, lime, carrot and red pepper. I mashed the avocado in a bowl. I then added the juice of 1 lime, salt and pepper and mixed. I sliced 1/4 of a large red pepper and peeled and cut up 1 carrot.
  • From there I laid out the leaves, overlapping one another.

025

  • Spread on 1/2 the avocado mixture.

026

  • Piled on my vegetables

027

  • Topped it off with alfalfa sprouts

028

  • Wrapped it up like a burrito

029

  • Dug in!!!

And I’ll tell you what, this was incredible. All the flavors mixed well, even the vinegar balanced well. I made this again, with the left over avocado mixture, for lunch today. It saved well in the fridge at work for four hours. I think this is my new favorite lunch for work. Next I’m going to try hummus with cucumbers and tomatoes but the possibilities are endless. Hopefully my new obsession with collard greens will help raise my iron levels. I’ll keep you updated with my progress. For more info on iron rich foods, the American Red Cross has wonderful resources.

Thanks for visiting and have a super weekend.

Author: Ashley

A country girl spending her life in her garden and kitchen with her husband and two beautiful boys

Leave a Reply

