Heart Healthy Beats

Tidbits to keep your heart healthy

Exercising my authority

1 Comment

I know the importance of exercising. I understand how important it is to manage a routine. I’m also aware of how much you have to fit into 24 hours. Trust me, I get it.

This summer has really tested my dedication to healthy living. I work a lot, I’m the sole bread winner for my home and I take my job extremely seriously.  This summer I’ve been offered extra shifts and I’ve worked longer hours if necessary. With that being said, I feel extremely guilty when I leave work and spend an hour at the gym instead of heading straight home. I mean look at these beautiful boys…

IMG_7510

wouldn’t you want to race home everyday just to plant hundreds of kisses all over these adorable little faces. See, I knew you would understand my dilemma.

In an effort to settle this internal battle I remind myself that I plan to be around to watch these handsome little guys grow into stunning young men. In order to make that happen I’m going to need to keep myself in the best possible shape.

After work, I stopped at the gym and strapped on my running shoes

Got in 15 minutes of cardio to get my heart pumping.

Headed over to my favorite part of the gym!

Grabbed a medicine ball and gave my upper body a good work out. This upper body workout is really similar to what I did. I did three sets of 12 reps. Then I added more dumb bell work.

I also noticed this

My gym hasn’t had the ropes long. I thought I would give a whirl. Boy, those ropes worked my entire body. Check this out for more inspiration.

The time away from my boys is definitely worth it if my body is in better shape and I’m able to enjoy the time I have with them. I encourage you to exercise the authority you have over your life and get out there.

Thanks for stopping by and have a fantastic workout on me.

Author: Ashley

A country girl spending her life in her garden and kitchen with her husband and two beautiful boys

One thought on “Exercising my authority

  1. This is great, Ashley 🙂 Most people choose to go home and say “I’ll go to the gym tomorrow” and it always becomes tomorrow. I’m very proud of you, it takes dedication! And you are being a good role model for your cute boys as well. You go girl

Leave a Reply

