Heart Healthy Beats

Tidbits to keep your heart healthy

Up to the challenge?

Leave a comment

If you read or follow blogs you may have seen a ton of August challenges.

Well, I’ve got one for you. I’m not going to ask you to exercise for an hour six days a week, or throw away all the condiments in your fridge but I am going to ask you to change the way you shop for your groceries.

Perimeter shopping has been talked about for ages and it has great merit. Do the majority of your shopping from the outside of the store because fresh, whole foods are found along the perimeter of the store.

Stick to the edges of the store and stick to your healthy eating plan

Image

I find it amusing that I found tons of articles hating on this concept, mostly because they were assuming we are making the middle of the store off limits. This is not the case. Simply put fill your cart with a majority of fresh fruits and vegetables, lean proteins, healthy grains and low fat dairy products. The middle aisles will need to be shopped for oatmeal, oils, herbs and spices, dry beans and other essentials.

I’m asking you to look for items that are minimally processed and do not contain any ingredients you cannot pronounce.

All month I will update you on my progress and posting recipes for great meals that contain no ingredients that are heavily processed.

This will be my biggest obstacle:

DDP

giving up my favorite caffeinated beverage, but I will and I challenge you to make a change this month too and stick with it.

Check out this other August challenge and this one.

Thanks for visiting and have a great day

Author: Ashley

A country girl spending her life in her garden and kitchen with her husband and two beautiful boys

Leave a Reply

