Heart Healthy Beats

Tidbits to keep your heart healthy

Peach Oatmeal Muffins for Your Saturday Morning

Leave a comment

The kitchen is constantly calling my name. I love to cook and bake. I spend long hours in there and I make most things from scratch. I’m also new to this, so I am learning as I go. I have been looking for a healthy muffin recipe that incorporates fresh fruits and oatmeal and one my boys will love. I’ve tried dozens and my boys have loved them all but they were not THE ONE!! I’ve played around with the amount of oats, the amount of applesauce and add ins. Recently, I even let my boys help with blueberry muffins and about halfway through the baking time I realized I forgot to add baking powder. My six year old was so upset because apparently he read that ingredient out in the directions but I must not have heard him. They ate the “mini” muffins anyways. The last time I made a successful batch, I decided I would add more applesauce and less sugar.

Tonight, while the boys were watching Where the Wild Things Are ( ← great movie, by the way) I decided to try once more with a few fresh peaches we received from one of my patients.

Here goes…

Peach Oatmeal Muffins

  • 1 ½ cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, freshly grated
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup natural applesauce
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 3 peaches, pitted and chopped

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line muffin tin with baking cups or coat with cooking spray

Combine the flours, oats, spices, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. In a medium bowl, combine applesauce, oil, eggs, and sugars. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and mix well. Do not over mix or the muffins will end up rubbery. The batter should be lumpy, not smooth.

Gently fold in the peaches.

Spoon batter into the prepared muffin pan. Bake for 20 minutes, until the tops are browned and the muffin bounces back when you gently press on the top with your finger tips. Let cool for a couple minutes in the muffin tin before removing to serve.

Makes 18 muffins.

Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy and have a great weekend!!

Author: Ashley

A country girl spending her life in her garden and kitchen with her husband and two beautiful boys

Leave a Reply

