Heart Healthy Beats

Tidbits to keep your heart healthy

Sweet Boys & a Cheap Dinner

Leave a comment

Yesterday was a day full of catching up around the house and trying to do school work. JR left early in the morning to work with my dad.

The night before when we explained to the boys that Daddy was working, the look on their face was priceless. Prince P said, “Daddy going to work, that’s just silly.” Yes, JR occasionally works but most of the time he takes the boys with him. When he’s working on someone’s car or chopping wood, they are usually in tow. So the fact that Daddy was leaving early in the morning and not taking either of them with him was strange. 

With JR out of the house and Prince P off to school Master A and I had a little fun in the garden before it got too hot. While I was busy pulling weeds and preparing for a small winter crop, A was digging holes and holding out packets of seeds for me.

He was motivated because he was promised bubbles once the garden was planted.

 

 

 

 

 

Since he was a huge help bubbles is what he got.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We planted peas, radishes, carrots and spinach

My small garden, with okra still producing

My small garden, with okra still producing

Another small bed

Another small bed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All tuckered out we retired to the house. I decided to utilize the crockpot. Being the day before payday it was interesting finding something blog worthy but here it is:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Poor Girl Chili:

  • 2 cans kidney beans
  • 1 can pinto beans
  • 1 jar salsa
  • 1 tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • dash of salt & pepper

Drain and wash all beans. Place all ingredients in slow cooker (I rinsed the salsa jar with water to get all the tomato goodness into the cooker). Cook on low for 5 hours. I served these with Ham and Cheese Muffins. This recipe calls for mayo, I didn’t have any, I used sour cream and they came out wonderfully. I also added a little shredded cheese into the mix.

This meal was delicious and worked wonderfully to clean out the pantry before grocery shopping. I’m off to Davidson Farmer’s Market tomorrow, I’ll make sure to share my finds. Have a fantastic weekend.

Author: Ashley

A country girl spending her life in her garden and kitchen with her husband and two beautiful boys

Leave a Reply

